About pallets

What pallets are there?

Aloysius Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG produces and sells the following pallet types:

What are the dimensions of the pallets?

The standard pallet dimensions can be found in our product range.

Individual dimensions can be discussed with us. As a result, we can produce and supply special sizes for our customers.

Why is the Euro pallet called Euro pallet?

At the beginning of 1961 and in the following years, a number of European railways, organised in the Union of International Railways (UIC) (Union Internationale des chemins de fer), signed a contract for an exchangeable pallet called the Euro pallet.

The signatory railways were obliged to comply with the standards, manufacture and repair of Euro pallets and Euro box pallets. The monitoring and guarantee for a trouble-free exchange in the EPP (European pallet pool) was contractually agreed.

In the mid-1970s, the Deutsche Bundesbahn (German railways) transferred its rights to the marks DB, RAL-RG 993, oval EUR and EPAL on the Euro pallets and Euro grid boxes "Gütegemeinschaft Paletten" to the current European umbrella organisation of EPAL, and the marks were thus protected under trademark law.

Today, this type of pallet is manufactured under various brand names in standardised sizes based on EN 13698-1 and is usually offered on the market in the pallet format 800 mm × 1200 mm, which is called "Euro pallet" by the consumer.

Since August 1, 2013, the inscription EPAL must appear in the oval on all edge blocks so that the pallet is an EPAL pallet. The labelling EUR is no longer necessary.

The quality assurance is checked by Bureau Veritas.

(Source: Wikipedia. de; abbreviated and supplemented)

Are all pallets IPPC-treated?

Yes, all pallets of the company Aloysius Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG can be IPPC-treated at the customer's request.

What is the difference between Euro and World pallet?

The company Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG produces exchangeable pallets exclusively under the brand "EPAL im Oval". Only this marking is valid for the exchangeability of pallets in the EPAL-Euro pallet pool organised by EPAL for more than 20 years. Pallets marked "World" are not exchangeable in the EPAL European pallet pool!

The "World" pallets are not subject to independent quality assurance in accordance with the provisions of the EPAL and UIC standards. We strongly recommend that you use EPAL Euro pallets, as "World" pallets are not exchangeable.

Are there standards for pallets?

Manufactured in accordance with strict quality regulations (UIC standard 435-2), Euro pallets are regularly inspected by the Bureau Veritas.

All EPAL-tested flat pallets carry a test clip with the EPAL quality mark.

Based on standardised and quality-assured Euro pallets, the EPAL system represents an industry-spanning, open pallet exchange pool. On the basis of the exchange criteria specified by EPAL, the respective exchange partners agree among themselves on the most cost-effective exchange: "Pallet against pallet ", via pallet accounts to be adjusted, etc.

Certain standards also apply to chemical pallets. For example, the Association of the Chemical Industry (VCI) provides guidelines (link to standards).

The so-called DIN pallet (DIN 15146) has now also been converted into a European standard (EN standard).

Does an EPAL Euro pallet meet global standards and requirements?

The EPAL Euro pallet meets the standards of most countries in the world with IPPC treatment. This means that nothing stands in the way of shipping goods all over the world. You can obtain a list of countries from your phytosanitary authority.

Are the pallets chemically treated?

The pallets are not chemically treated.

The pallets can generally be treated in two ways. Either by pure heat drying (HT) or by fumigation with methyl bromide (MB). However, fumigation is not permitted in Germany!

At the company Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG, the pallets are ONLY heat treated. By burning sawdust, water is heated to heat the air in the kiln.
This hot air flows around the pallets until a certain core temperature is reached and sufficient water has been removed from the wood. Therefore, the pallets do not contain any chemical or allergenic substances at the end.

What does the weld penetration on the EPAL Euro pallet mean? Are the pallets traceable?

Example of labelling based on IPPC

  • IPPC icon
  • Country code according to ISO 3166, e. g. DE for Germany
  • Identification of the region, e. g. HE for Hesse
  • Registration number, one-time assigned number starting with 49
  • Treatment method, e. g. HT (heat treatment), MB (methyl bromide), possibly DB (debarked)

The weld penetration on the EPAL Euro-pallet allows this to be traced back to the producer.

Wooden block or form-spalin block?

All pallets can be produced with either a wooden block or a form-spalin block.

The wooden block is sawn in our production from long untreated squared timber. There is no further treatment. The wooden block is therefore free of chemical substances.

The form-spalin block is made of natural softwood and recycled waste wood shavings. The fibres are pressed together with glue.

What nails are used?

Only standardised nails may be used for EPAL Euro pallets. In principle, these have a header marking consisting of two letters. The positions of the 78 nails in the Euro-pallet are prescribed to ensure the diagonal stiffness of the pallet.

Screw nails are used for the other pallet types.

Where do you get the wood for the pallet from? Is the wood from sustainably growing forests?

The logs for our pallets are mainly sourced from German forests. The state forestry companies are PEFC-certified. PEFC is an independent system for ensuring sustainable forest management and is called the "Programme for the Recognition of Forest Certification Schemes"

On our certificates

Does the pallet contain recycled materials?

The new pallets of the company Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG are made of freshly sawn, untreated boards, solid wood blocks and standardised iron nails. These boards, blocks and nails do not contain any recycled materials. The chipboard blocks contain wood chips from recycled waste wood.

What is the load capacity of the pallets?

The form of loading pallets is crucial in terms of the load capacity of the entire pallet and thus in terms of the safety of the products to be loaded. The load capacity also depends on the size, shape and weight of a product. Proper handling of the wooden pallet is also important, as improper handling can damage the pallet. The statics of a pallet and its payload can be calculated by us for you using the Pallet Express software.

How can the pallet be individually marked?

If individually manufactured pallets are ordered, individual identification can also be provided. A lateral weld penetration on the pallet blocks can be done based on customer requirements or colour codes can be applied. You can find out more in the section "Dying & Marking".

Euro-Pool pallets and other standardised pallets must not be marked in colour.

Transport and Storage

How is the pallet stored until delivery?

The finished pallets are stored in our central warehouse or in the external warehouse under roof. This ensures that the pallet arrives dry and without any damage caused by the elements. In order to facilitate re-use, we recommend storing the load carriers as dry as possible.

How are the pallets delivered?

The pallets can be picked up or delivered by us. The delivery is made with our own trucks or with a forwarding agent. The pallets can be stacked on top of each other or nested in one another.

Delivery can be individually planned and agreed with our employees.

What is the stacking height of the pallets on the truck? Stacking height when using the pallet? Stacking height in the high-rack warehouse?

The stacking height on a truck can be adjusted according to its use. If, for example, the height of the door at the customer's premises limits the stacking height, this can be done at our factory in such a way that there are no problems during unloading on site. The maximum stacking height is 3.00 m.

For high-rack warehouses, there is no uniform specification of the stacking height. This depends on the height of the racks, the height of the pallets, the requirements of robots and in some case the product.

Can the pallets also be delivered bound?

The pallets can also be stacked by us with plastic strapping.

How are the pallets secured during transport?

The pallets are additionally secured on the trucks with lashing straps for each cross-stacking and each lengthwise stacking, so that the pallets will not slip during transport.

On the company

Are there quality standards, environmental standards, energy management systems in the company?

Quality standards: - EPAL licence for Euro-Pool pallets, licence number D-003

  • IPPC standard, confirmation of the authorisation of the company for the treatment, production and delivery of wood or wooden packaging in accordance with the IPPC standard ISPM No. 15, registration number DE-HE493027.
  • VCI approval, Association of the Chemical Industry e. V.

Environmental standards: PEFC certifications of the forestry companies from which the logs are purchased

Energy management system: DIN EN ISO 50001:2011

Do you also work with used pallets?

The business of the company Krenzer GmbH & Co. KG involves the production and distribution of new pallets. However, there are regular purchases of whole truck loads of used Euro-pallets. These are tested for their quality and resold in perfect condition. If you are interested in used pallets, our office staff will be happy to provide you with information.

Are bark, wood chips and sawdust also sold?

Krenzer sells bark, wood chips and sawdust in containers to the processing industry. Unfortunately, we no longer sell to private buyers because the associated administrative costs would not justify a sale. We thank for your understanding!

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Mehr erfahren...

Zur Palette

Welche Paletten gibt es?

Aloysius Krenzer KG produziert und vertreibt folgende Palettentypen:

Welche Maße haben die Paletten

Die Standardmaße der Paletten sind bei unserer Produktpalette zu finden.

Individuelle Maße können gerne mit uns durchgesprochen werden. Daraufhin können wir für unsere Kunden Sondermaße produzieren und liefern.

Warum heißt die Europalette Europalette?

Anfang 1961 und in den darauf folgenden Jahren unterzeichneten einige europäische Eisenbahnen, die in der Vereinigung der Internationalen Eisenbahnen (UIC) (Union Internationale des chemins de fer) organisiert sind, einen Vertrag über eine tauschbare Palette, mit dem Namen Europalette.

Die unterzeichnenden Eisenbahnen waren zur Einhaltung der Normen, der Herstellung und zur Reparatur der Europaletten sowie der Eurogitterboxen verpflichtet. Die Überwachung bzw. die Gewährleistung zum störungsfreien Tausch im EPP (Europäischer Palettenpool) wurde vertraglich vereinbart.

Mitte der 1970er Jahre hat die Deutsche Bundesbahn ihre Rechte der Zeichen DB, RAL-RG 993, ovales EUR und EPAL an den Europaletten und Eurogitterboxen „Gütegemeinschaft Paletten“ dem heutigen Europäischen Dachverband des EPAL übertragen und die Zeichen wurden somit markenrechtlich geschützt.

Heute wird diese oben genannte Palettenbauform unter verschiedenen Markennamen in standardisierten Baugrößen nach EN 13698-1 gefertigt und zumeist in dem vom Verbraucher als „Europalette“ bezeichneten Palettenformat 800 mm × 1200 mm am Markt angeboten.

Seit dem 1. August 2013 muss auf allen Randklötzen die Aufschrift EPAL im Oval stehen, damit die Palette eine EPAL-Palette ist. Die Beschriftung EUR fällt weg.

Die Gütesicherung wird durch Bureau Veritas kontrolliert.

(Quelle: wikipedia.de; gekürzt und ergänzt)

Sind alle Paletten IPPC-behandelt?

Ja, alle Paletten der Firma Aloysius Krenzer KG können auf Kundenwunsch IPPC-behandelt werden.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Euro- und World-Palette?

Die Firma Krenzer KG produziert Tauschpaletten ausschließlich mit den Marken „EPAL im Oval“. Nur diese Markierung ist gültig für die Tauschfähigkeit von Paletten in dem seit mehr als 20 Jahren von der EPAL organisierten EPAL-Europalettenpool. Die Paletten mit der Kennzeichnung „World“ sind im EPAL-Europalettenpool nicht tauschfähig!

Denn die „World“-Paletten unterliegen keiner unabhängigen Qualitätssicherung gemäß den Bestimmungen des Technischen Regelwerks der EPAL sowie der UIC-Norm. Wir empfehlen Ihnen dringend, die EPAL-Europaletten zu nutzen, da „World“-Paletten nicht tauschbar sind.

Gibt es Normen für Paletten?

Hergestellt nach strengen Qualitätsvorschriften (UIC-Norm 435-2) werden Europaletten regemäßig durch das Bureau Veritas überprüft.

Alle EPAL-geprüften Flachpaletten tragen eine Prüfklammer mit dem EPAL-Qualitätszeichen.

Basierend auf normierten und qualitätsgesicherten Europaletten stellt das EPAL-System einen branchenübergreifenden, offenen Palettentauschpool dar. Auf Grundlage der von der EPAL vorgegebenen Tauschkriterien vereinbaren die jeweiligen Tauschpartner untereinander den für sie kostengünstigsten Tausch: „Palette gegen Palette“, über abzugleichende Palettenkonten usw.

Für Chemiepaletten gelten auch bestimmte Normen. Vorgaben leistet beispielsweise der Verband der Chemischen Industrie (VCI) (Link zu Normen).

Die sogenannte DIN-Palette (DIN 15146) wurde inzwischen auch in eine europäische Norm (EN-Norm) überführt.

Erfüllt eine EPAL-Europalette weltweite Standards und Anforderungen?

Die EPAL-Europalette erfüllt durch die IPPC-Behandlung den Standard der allermeisten Länder der Welt. Somit steht dem Versand von Ware in die ganze Welt nichts im Wege. Eine Auflistung der Länder erhalten sie bei ihrer jeweiligen Pflanzenschutzbehörde.

Sind die Paletten chemisch behandelt?

Die Paletten sind nicht chemisch behandelt.

Die Behandlung der Paletten kann allgemein auf zwei Wegen erfolgen. Entweder durch die reine Hitzetrockung (HT) oder durch die Begasung mit Methylbromid (MB). Die Begasung ist in Deutschland jedoch nicht zulässig!

Bei der Firma Krenzer KG werden die Paletten NUR hitzebehandelt, d.h. durch Verbrennung von Sägespänen wird Wasser erhitzt, das die Luft in der Trockenkammer erwärmt. Diese heiße Luft umströmt die Paletten bis eine gewisse Kerntemperatur erreicht ist und dem Holz ausreichend Wasser entzogen wurde. Daher enthalten die Paletten am Ende keine chemischen oder allergenen Stoffe.

Was bedeutet der Einbrand auf der EPAL-Europalette? Sind die Paletten rückverfolgbar?

Beispiel für eine Kennzeichnung nach IPPC

  • IPPC-Symbol
  • Länderkennung nach ISO 3166, z.B. DE für Deutschland
  • Kennung der Region, z.B. HE für Hessen
  • Registriernummer, einmalig vergebene Nummer beginnend mit 49
  • Behandlungsmethode, z.B. HT (heat treatment), MB (methylbromide), ggf. DB (debarked)

Durch den Einbrand auf der EPAL-Europalette, kann diese zum Produzenten zurückverfolgt werden.

Holzklotz oder Formspalinklotz?

Alle Paletten können entweder mit Holzklotz oder Formspalinklotz hergestellt werden.

Der Holzklotz wird in unserer Produktion aus einem langen unbehandelten Kantholz zugesägt. Eine weitere Behandlung erfolgt nicht mehr. Der Holzklotz ist somit frei von chemischen Substanzen.

Der Formspalinklotz wird aus naturbelassenem Nadelholz und recycelten Altholzspänen herstellt. Dabei werden die Fasern mit Leim verpresst.

Welche Nägel werden verwendet?

Bei den EPAL-Europaletten dürfen nur genormte Nägel verwendet werden. Diese tragen prinzipiell eine Kopfkennzeichnung, die aus zwei Buchstaben besteht. Die Positionen der 78 Nägel in der Europalette sind vorgeschrieben, damit die Diagonalsteifigkeit der Palette gewährleistet ist.

Bei den weiteren Palettentypen werden Schraubnägel verwendet.

Woher beziehen Sie das Holz für die Palette? Ist das Holz aus nachhaltig wachsenden Wäldern?

Das Rundholz für unsere Paletten beziehen wir hauptsächlich aus deutschen Wäldern. Die staatlichen Forstbetriebe sind PEFC-zertifiziert. PEFC ist ein unabhängiges System zur Sicherstellung einer nachhaltigen Waldbewirtschaftung und heißt übersetzt „Programm für die Anerkennung von Forstzertifizierungssystemen“.

Zu unseren Zertifikaten

Enthält die Palette Recyclingmaterialien?

Die neuen Paletten der Firma Krenzer KG werden aus frisch gesägten, unbehandelten Brettern, Vollholzklötzen und genormten Eisennägeln hergestellt. Diese Bretter, Klötze und Nägel enthalten somit keine Recyclingmaterialien. Die Klötze aus Pressspan enthalten Holzspäne aus recyceltem Altholz.

Wie hoch ist die Traglast der Paletten?

Die Form der Beladung von Paletten ist ausschlaggebend für die Traglast der gesamten Palette und somit für die Sicherheit der zu ladenden Produkte. Die Traglast ist außerdem abhängig von der Größe, Form und des Gewichts eines Produktes. Auch ist der sachgemäße Umgang mit der Palette wichtig, da bei zu grobem Umgang Schäden an dieser entstehen können. Die Statik einer Palette und ihre Traglast können mit der Software Pallet Express von uns für Sie berechnet werden.

Wie kann die Palette individuell gekennzeichnet werden?

Sofern individuell angefertigte Paletten bestellt werden, kann auch eine individuelle Kennzeichnung erfolgen. Ein seitlicher Einbrand auf den Klötzen der Palette kann nach Kundenwunsch erfolgen oder es können auch Farbcodes angebracht werden. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Bereich "Färben & Kennzeichnen"

Euro-Poolpaletten und andere genormte Paletten dürfen nicht farblich gekennzeichnet werden.

Transport und Lagerung

Wie wird die Palette gelagert bis zur Auslieferung?

Die fertigen Paletten werden bei uns im zentralen Lager oder im Außenlager unter Dach gelagert. Dadurch wird gewährleistet, dass die Palette trocken und ohne Schäden durch Wettereinflüsse bei den Kunden ankommt. Um die Wiederverwendung zu erleichtern, empfehlen wir eine möglichst trockene Lagerung der Ladungsträger.

Wie werden die Paletten ausgeliefert?

Die Paletten können selbst abgeholt oder von uns geliefert werden. Die Auslieferung erfolgt mit eigenen LKWs oder mit einer Spedition. Dabei können die Paletten aufeinander gestapelt oder ineinander verschachtelt ausgeliefert werden.

Die Auslieferung kann mit unseren Mitarbeitern individuell geplant und abgesprochen werden.

Wie ist die Stapelhöhe der Paletten auf dem LKW? Stapelhöhe bei Benutzung der Palette? Stapelhöhe im Hochregallager?

Die Stapelhöhe auf einem LKW kann je nach Verwendung eingerichtet werden. Wenn z.B. die Torhöhe beim Kunden die Stapelhöhe beschränkt, kann diese schon bei uns im Werk so erfolgen, dass es beim Ausladen vor Ort keine Probleme gibt. Die maximale Stapelhöhe beträgt 3,00 m.

Für Hochregallager gibt es keine einheitliche Angabe der Stapelhöhe. Diese ist hier abhängig von der Höhe der Regale, der Höhe der Paletten, Anforderungen von Robotern und eventuell des Produktes.

Können die Paletten auch gebunden geliefert werden?

Die Paletten können auch Stapelweise von uns mit einer Umreifung aus Plastik versehen werden.

Wie ist die Ladungssicherung von Paletten beim Transport?

Die Paletten werden auf den LKWs bei jeder Querstapelung und jeder Längsstapelung zusätzlich mit Spanngurten gesichert, sodass ein Verrutschen der Paletten während des Transports ausgeschlossen werden kann.

Zum Unternehmen

Gibt es Qualitätsnormen, Umweltnormen, Energiemanagement­systeme im Unternehmen?

Qualitätsnormen: - EPAL-Lizenz für Euro-Poolpaletten, Lizenznummer D-003

  • IPPC Standard, Bestätigung der Autorisierung des Betriebs für die Behandlung, Herstellung und Lieferung von Holz bzw. Holzverpackungen gemäß dem IPPC Standard ISPM Nr. 15, Registriernummer DE-HE493027
  • VCI-Zulassung, Verband der chemischen Industrie e.V.

Umweltnormen: PEFC-Zertifizierungen der Forstbetriebe, aus denen das Rundholz bezogen wird

Energiemanagemetsystem: DIN EN ISO 50001:2011

Handeln Sie auch mit gebrauchten Paletten?

Grundsätzlich besteht das Geschäft der Firma Krenzer KG aus der Produktion und dem Vertrieb von neuen Paletten. Jedoch gibt es in regelmäßigen Abständen Ankäufe ganzer LKW-Ladungen mit gebrauchten Europaletten. Diese werden bei uns auf ihre Qualität geprüft und in einwandfreiem Zustand weiter verkauft. Falls Sie Interesse an gebrauchten Paletten haben, geben unsere Mitarbeiter im Büro gerne Auskunft darüber.

Werden auch Rinde, Hackschnitzel und Sägemehl verkauft?

Rinde, Hackschnitzel und Sägemehl werden bei der Firma Krenzer containerweise an die weiterverarbeitende Industrie verkauft. Leider geben wir nichts mehr an private Käufer ab, da die damit verbundenen Verwaltungskosten einen Verkauf nicht rechtfertigen würden. Wir bitten Sie an dieser Stelle um ihr Verständnis!

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Mehr erfahren...